Washington Update

FASEB Appoints Inaugural Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

By: Yvette Seger
Thursday, November 21, 2019

Earlier this year, FASEB’s Board of Directors chartered a Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Committee, charged with “developing and monitoring strategies to guide the Federation’s efforts to foster diverse, equitable, and inclusive research, training, and professional environments within FASEB and its member societies, and to engage in collaborative partnerships with external organizations to promote DEI across the biological and biomedical sciences.”

Joan Richstmeier, PhD, FASEB Board member representing the American Association for Anatomy (AAA), will serve as the inaugural Chair of the committee. Other committee members include:

  • Vivek Balasubramaniam, MD (Society for Pediatric Research), University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Sybil Walker Barnes, CAE, Assistant Director, Digital Communications (FASEB)
  • Marcelo Bonini, PhD (Society for Redox Biology and Medicine), Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Shawn Boynes, FASAE, CAE, Executive Director, AAA
  • Holly Brown-Borg, PhD (American Aging Association), University of North Dakota School of Medicine & Health Sciences
  • Catherine Davis, PhD (American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics), Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
  • Michelle T. Juarez, PhD (Genetics Society of America/Society for Developmental Biology), Howard Hughes Medical Institute
  • Nicola C. Partridge, PhD (American Society for Bone and Mineral Research), New York University School of Medicine
  • Margarita Teran-Garcia, MD, PhD, FTOS (American Society for Nutrition), University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Annelyn Torres-Reveron, PhD (American Physiological Society), University of Texas Rio Grande Valley
  • Lauren M. Walker, PhD (Society for Birth Defects Research), Rutgers University
  • Frank Krause, CAE, Executive Director/CEO (FASEB), ex officio
  • Jacquelyn Roberts, Director, Office of Sponsored Programs, Diversity, and Grants Administration (FASEB), ex officio

Committee members will convene later this month to review the FASEB DEI Strategic Plan and establish a work plan for sustaining the DEI mission across FASEB programs.