Latest News

FASEB Names Hannah Carey President

Monday, July 1, 2019

Hannah V. Carey, PhD, begins her term as FASEB President on July 1. Dr. Carey is Professor of Comparative Biosciences at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. She is also Director of the UW-Madison Biotron Laboratory, a facility that provides controlled environment space for plant, animal, and materials research and testing. 

With an interest in gastrointestinal physiology and hibernation biology, Dr. Carey has been recognized for her research program that uses hibernating mammals as models for adaptation to extreme changes in physiology and nutrition. Hibernation biology translates to biomedicine, including organ preservation, intestinal ischemia-reperfusion injury, and severe blood loss. 

Dr. Carey has held leadership roles in the American Physiological Society (APS), a FASEB member society, as well as the American Gastroenterological Association. She was a member of the APS Council in 1999-2002 and served as APS President in 2007-2008. She was also FASEB Vice President for Science Policy in 2017-2018. For more on Dr. Carey, read her recent interview with FASEB staff.

Louis B. Justement, Patricia L. Morris, and Kevin C. Kregel will also each move into new elected officer positions.

Louis B. Justement, PhD, Professor of Microbiology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB), was named FASEB President-Elect. He is Director of the Graduate Biomedical Sciences Immunology Graduate Theme and the Undergraduate Immunology Program at UAB. Dr. Justement is a member of three FASEB societies: American Association of Immunologists, American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and the Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine. He served as Chair of the FASEB Science Policy Committee’s Training and Career Opportunities Subcommittee in 2008-2018 and FASEB Vice President for Science Policy in 2018-2019.

Patricia L. Morris, PhD, was named FASEB Vice President for Science Policy. Dr. Morris is an Investigator at The Rockefeller University, and formerly the Executive Director of Biomedical Research and Development and Senior Scientist in the Center for Biomedical Research at the Population Council's Center for Biomedical Research. She is a member of four FASEB member societies: American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics, the Endocrine Society, Society for Developmental Biology, and the Society for the Study of Reproduction. 

Kevin C. Kregel, PhD, was named FASEB Vice President-Elect for Science Policy. Dr. Kregel is Associate Provost for Faculty and Professor of Human Physiology at the University of Iowa. He is also a member of APS.