Postdoctoral Professional Development and Enrichment Award

The FASEB Postdoctoral Professional Development and Enrichment Award has been discontinued.  This NIGMS grant-funded project was not renewed to continue beyond the current grant period ending in 2012.

The award was sponsored by the National Institute of General Medical Sciences/National Institutes of Health and given by the FASEB MARC Program, this award recognized highly promising postdoctoral scientists who had demonstrated research productivity. This includes having published first-author papers in scientific publications, mentoring undergraduate and graduate students from underrepresented groups, and leading the improvement and expansion of opportunities in the scientific workforce and academia.  During 2008-2011, a total of 24 individuals have been recognized for their contributions and were selected from an extremely accomplished applicant pool of dedicated scientists.


Past recipients of FASEB's Postdoctoral Professional Development and Enrichment Award include:

2011 Angela Bermudez-Millan, PhD
James Fells, PhD
Rodrigo Fernandez-Valdivia, PhD
Grace O'Connell, PhD
Claudio Villanueva, PhD
Cecelia Yates, PhD
 Press Release 2009  Lydia Contreras, PhD
Carolyn Fisher, PhD
Keith Keene, PhD
Tennille Leak, PhD
Veronica Lopez, PhD
Julius SternJohn, PhD
 Press Release
2010 Mauricio Di Fulvio, PhD
Maureen Estevez, PhD
Princess Imoukhuede, PhD
Alexis Ortiz, PhD
Maria Juliana Serrano, PhD
April Stull, PhD
 Press Release 2008  Juan Leon, PhD
Farah Lubin, PhD
Octavia M. Peck Palmer, PhD
Rita Serda, PhD
David J. Vigerust, PhD
Courtney Woods, PhD
 Press Release

The FASEB MARC Program was funded by two grants from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health.  [T36-GM08059 and T36-GM08637]