Travel Awards Announced for Postdoctoral Preparation Institute

May 22, 2018

FASEB Diversity Resources Program has announced the travel award recipients for the Postdoctoral Preparation Institute held in Minneapolis, MN, June 1-2, 2018.  These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, post doctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the Postdoctoral Preparation Institute.  This year FASEB Diversity Resources Program conferred 36 awards totaling $45,000.

The FASEB Diversity Resources Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the Diversity Resources Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented groups engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

The following participants have been selected to receive a FASEB Travel Award:
Nicolas Abrigo, University of California, San Diego
Stephen Alkins, University of California, Berkeley
Brenda Andrade, University of Florida
Juan Aponte-Santini, University of Puerto Rico- Rio Piedras
Pavel Aprelev, University of California, Irvine
Edwin Arauz, Emory University
Ijeoma Azih, University of Georgia
Kristen Brown, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras
Albert Burgess-Hull, Meharry Medical College
Jessica Cardenas, Brandeis University
Wei-Chieh Jerry Chiang, Medical University of South Carolina
Perla Cruz-Tato, Brown University
Benem-Orom Davids, University of Hawaii at West Oahu
Elise Dela Cruz-Talbert, Meharry Medical College
Elizabeth Fucich, University of Southern California
Ming Gao, Houston Methodist Research Institute
Rafael Gonzalez Cruz, Louisiana State Univ Health Sciences Center
Diana Rosa Hernandez, University of Pennsylvania
Emil Iqbal, Clemson University
Raisa Kiseleva, The Catholic University of America
Gabriel Linares, LeMoyne College
Maria Meza-Lopez, University of Miami
Adeola O Adebayo, University of North Texas Health Science Center
Nancy Ortiz, UT Health San Antonio
Victor Padilla Sanchez, University of Wisconisn-Madison
Daniel Ramos-Perez, University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign
Candace Receno, University of Pittsburgh
Ariana Renrick, University of Texas at Arlington
Jenaye Robinson, Virginia Commonwealth University
Alexander Rosenberg, Virginia Commonwealth University
Nishant Saxena, University of Virginia
Leslie Sedgeman, Vanderbilt University
Wesley Tucker, Texas Southern University
Junji Xing, University of Wisconisn-Madison
Tianxin Yu, University of Kentucky
Jinchao Zhang, University of Kentucky

Categories: Travel Award Announcements;