MARC Travel Awards Announced for the FASEB 2017 Postdoctoral Preparation Institute: Career Transitions

August 02, 2017

FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the FASEB 2017 Postdoctoral Preparation Institute (2017 PPI) in National Harbor, MD from August 10-11, 2017. These awards are meant to help support the participation of postdoctoral fellows, new assistant professors and advanced graduate students who soon will be transitioning into their first independent positions. This year MARC conferred 44 awards totaling $55,000.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health.  A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of students, postdoctoral fellows and early-career scientists from underrepresented groups who are engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

A total of 51 biomedical research trainees will be participating in the 2017 PPI. The following 44 participants have been selected to receive a FASEB MARC Travel Award:

Sola Aina-Popoola, Tuskegee University   
Kiran K. Andra, Weill Cornell Medical College
Gary Angles, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Joyell Arscott, Duke University
Sameena Azhar, University of Chicago
Lauren Baugh, Tufts University
Genevieve Bell, Florida State University
Andrew Bishop, PhD, Texas Biomedical Research Institute [ASBMB]
Cheavar Blair, University of Kentucky [APS]
Sylvia Bonilla, PhD, UF/IFAS-CREC
Shyretha Brown, Tennessee State University [ASBMB]
Susan Daraiseh, Florida State University [ASBMB]
Moses Darpolor, PhD, Pennington Biomedical Research Center
Masoumeh Dejman, PhD, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Dominique N. Gales, PhD, Tuskegee University [SSR]
Merlin Nithya Gnanapragasam, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Olga D. Gonzalez-Lopez, PhD, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Maryvi Gonzalez-Sola, PhD, Texas Woman’s University [AAA]
Chul Han, PhD, University of Florida
Patrick Hong, PhD, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
Li-Hao Huang, PhD, Washington University of School of Medicine
Neal Jahren, PhD, University of Minnesota [SDB]
Micah E. Johnson, PhD, University of Florida
Desiree Leach, University of South Carolina School of Medicine
Mid Eum Lee, PhD, Dartmouth College [ASBMB]
Yi Liu, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
Wan-Lin Lo, PhD, UCSF
Americo Lopez-Yglesias, PhD, University of Rochester
Zhenzhong Ma, PhD, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Jodi Alicia McKenzie, PhD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Augustine Nkembo, PhD, Florida A&M University [ASBMB]
Michael Opata, PhD, Appalachain State University [AAI]
Kayla Peck, PhD, University of Michigan
Ziba Razinia, PhD, University of Pennsylvania
Wilfredo Rosario, PhD, Duke University
Iman A. Saber, Temple University School of Pharmacy [ASPET]
Marie Seraphin, PhD, University of Florida
Elkhansa Sidahmed, PhD, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health [ASN]
Craig Ulrich, PhD, University of Nevada Reno School of Medicine
Tatiana D. Viena, Florida Atlantic University
Natasha Weatherspoon-Griffin, PhD, University of Florida
Karessa White, University of Florida
Aurellia Whitmore, Florida A&M University
Amina Wofford, Tuskegee University [ES]


The 2017 Postdoctoral Preparation Institute is organized by the FASEB MARC Program and funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health.  [T36-GM0008637-21]

Categories: Travel Award Announcements;