FASEB 2018 Excellence in Science Award Recipient Announced

July 12, 2017

Lynne Maquat, PhD, will receive the 2018 FASEB Excellence in Science Award. The award recognizes women whose outstanding career achievements in biological science have contributed significantly to the understanding of a particular discipline through scientific achievements, training of students and postdoctoral fellows, and contributions to the broader scientific community. Recipients of this award receive an unrestricted research grant of $10,000.
Dr. Maquat is the J. Lowell Orbison Endowed Chair and Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry, and the Founding Director of the university’s Center for RNA Biology. For over 30 years, she has made seminal contributions to our understanding of RNA biology, specifically the role of nonsense-mediated mRNA decay (NMD), a quality control process in mammalian cells. Her laboratory’s efforts have uncovered the underlying processes that initiate and carry out the NMD of gene transcripts, and linked NMD to many human genetic diseases including ß-thalassemia.
As a result of this work, Dr. Maquat has authored more 120 peer reviewed publications and received numerous prestigious awards and appointments, including election to the National Academy of Sciences, American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and American Association for the Advancement of Science.
She has approached mentoring and service with the same dedication she devotes to her science. In addition to the numerous graduate and postgraduate trainees she has directly supervised, Dr. Maquat has developed programs that fostered career development for a broad range of trainees, at the University of Rochester and beyond. Similarly, she has organized or chaired sessions at many international meetings, served on multiple study sections and editorial boards, and is actively engaged with multiple scientific and professional societies.
Since 1989, FASEB has awarded the Excellence in Science Award to outstanding women scientists in recognition of their achievements in research, mentorship, and service. In addition to the unrestricted research grant, awardees present a special award lecture at the annual meeting of a FASEB member society of their choosing. Additional details, including a list of former honorees, are available here.

Categories: FASEB General Announcements;