MARC Travel Awards Announced for ABRCMS 2016

November 04, 2016

FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the 2016 Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students.  These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, post doctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students.  This year MARC conferred 15 awards totaling $21,050.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented groups engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

The following participants have been selected to receive a FASEB MARC Travel Award:

Tsikata Apenyo, Brown University

Oluwasanmi Ariyo, Pennsylvania State University

Jalen Benson, Dartmouth College

Brandon Berk, Heritage University

Kaylee Garcia, Azusa Pacific University

Charmin Guy, University of Mississippi

Krysten Harvey, Vanderbilt University

Vennis Hong, University of California, San Diego

April Laranang, University of Maryland, Baltimore College

Amanda Li, University of Portland

Deborah Osakue, University of Pittsburgh

Martine Policard, Georgia State University

Mariela Rivera-De Jesus, University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez

Tran Tran, Clark University

Maria Villanueva, Heritage University

Categories: Travel Award Announcements;