Created by on 5/17/2011 12:00:00 AM

The National Academy of Sciences (NAS) recently announced the election of seventy two new members and eighteen foreign associates from fifteen countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Eighteen of the inductees are members of FASEB societies, including FASEB Board Member R. Scott Hawley, Ph.D. For a complete roster of the newly elected members, please see the list below. In addition to FASEB members being elected to the NAS, FASEB’s Immediate Past-President Mark Lively, Ph.D was recently appointed to the NIH Council of Councils.


Arthur Beaudet, M.D.

Societies: American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, American Society of Human Genetics, American Federation for Medical Research
James Birchler, Ph.D
Society: Genetics Society of America
Rebecca Buckley, M.D. 
Society: American Association of Immunologists
Harry Dietz, M.D. 
Society: American Society for Clinical Investigation
John Eppig, Ph.D 
Society: Society for the Study of Reproduction
Michael Goldberg, Ph.D 
Society: American Physiological Society
Daniel Gottschling, Ph.D 
Society: Genetics Society of America
Steven Jacobsen, Ph.D
Society: Genetics Society of America
Brian Kobilka, M.D. 
Societies: American Society for Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics, American Society for Clinical Investigation
Lynne Maquat, Ph.D 
Society: American Society for Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Susan McConnell, Ph.D
Society: Society for Developmental Biology
Carl Nathan, M.D. 
Societies: American Association of Immunologists,American Society for Clinical Investigation
Michel Nussenzweig, M.D., Ph.D 
Societies: American Association of Immunologists, American Society for Clinical Investigation
Stephen Warren, Ph.D 
Societies: American Society of Human Genetics, Genetics Society of America
David Kingsley, Ph.D
Society: Genetics Society of America
Andrew McCammon, Ph.D
Societies:Protein Society,American Society for Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics
Ira Mellman, Ph.D
Society:American Association of Immunologists