Created by on 07/17/2012

Judith S. Bond, PhD, is the new President of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB). Bond started her presidency July 1, 2012. She will serve one year as the leader of FASEB, a coalition of 26 scientific societies made up of more than 100,000 scientists and engineers. The new president is Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Penn State College of Medicine in Hershey, where she was named University Distinguished Professor in 2008 and Evan Pugh Professor in 2010. She is a member of The American Physiological Society, The Protein Society, and Past President of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (2004-2006). “Today, because of the continuing gains of knowledge from biomedical research, we have the unprecedented opportunity to improve the health and well-being of people around the globe. Our challenge is to explain why—in these difficult financial times—the continued investment in research is so critically important to our country and to the world,” President Bond said.
A graduate of Bennington College (BS) and Rutgers University (PhD), Bond’s research focused on proteolysis, the breakdown of proteins into smaller amino acids, and particularly unique and complex metalloproteases called meprins. Dr. Bond has a sustained interest in graduate education, having trained over 25 PhD, MD/PhD, and MD students and 19 postdoctoral fellows. She was Director of the Medical Scientist Training Program at Penn State Hershey. Dr. Bond has also served on the Advisory Council of the National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Scientific Foundation for Future Physicians Committee, and the National Institutes of Health’s Biochemistry Study Section.
Other new FASEB officers include Margaret K. Offermann, MD, PhD; President-Elect, Joseph R. Haywood, PhD, Vice President for Science Policy; and Lynn Wecker, PhD, Treasurer. Dr. Offermann is a principal with the Salutramed Group, a medical and life science consulting firm. Dr. Haywood is Professor and Chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology at Michigan State University. Dr. Wecker is Distinguished University Professor of Psychiatry and Neuroscience at the University of South Florida.


           Dr. Judith S. Bond                                       Dr. Margaret K. Offermann