MARC Travel Awards Announced for the American Society of Human Genetics 2014 Annual Meeting

August 28, 2014

Bethesda, MD – FASEB MARC (Maximizing Access to Research Careers) Program has announced the travel award recipients for the American Society of Human Genetics 2014 Annual from October 18 – 22, 2014 in San Diego, California.  These awards are meant to promote the entry of students, post doctorates and scientists from underrepresented groups into the mainstream of the basic science community and to encourage the participation of young scientists at the American Society of Human Genetics 2014 Annual Meeting.  This year MARC conferred 17 awards totaling $31,450.

The FASEB MARC Program is funded by a grant from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, National Institutes of Health. A primary goal of the MARC Program is to increase the number and competitiveness of underrepresented groups engaged in biomedical and behavioral research.

  The following participants have been selected to receive a FASEB MARC Travel Award:


Kinsley Belle, University of Miami

Calvin Carter, University of Iowa

Monique Courtenay, University of Miami

Kacie Deters, Indiana University School of Medicine

Michael Gonzalez, University of Miami

Wenndy Hernandez, The University of Chicago

Crystal Humphries, University of Miami

Latifa Jackson, Drexel University

Janina Jeff, Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Tennille Leak-Johnson, University of Michigan

Sahar Mozaffari, University of Chicago

Nicole Restrepo, Vanderbilt University

Melissa Spear, University of California, San Francisco

Krystal Tsosie, Vanderbilt University

Nora Urraca, University of Tennessee, Health Science Center



Dr. Nadeem Fazal, Chicago State University

Devin Ross, Chicago State University

Categories: Travel Award Announcements;