FASEB Board of Directors 

July 2014 - June 2015

Joseph R. Haywood, PhD

Professor Pharmacology and Toxicology
Assistant Vice President for Regulatory Affairs
Michigan State University
East Lansing, Michigan


Parker B. Antin, PhD
Associate Dean for Research
College of Agriculture and Life Sciences
Professor of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
University of Arizona
Tucson, Arizona

Vice President for Science Policy
Hudson H. Freeze, PhD
Professor and Director
Human Genetics Program
Sanford Children's Health Research Center
Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute
La Jolla, California

Immediate Past President
Margaret K. Offermann, MD, PhD
Medical Oncologist and Biomedical Researcher
Managing Partner - Salutramed Group, Inc.
Atlanta, Georgia


Mark O. Lively, PhD
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Winston-Salem, North Carolina

Vice President-Elect for Science Policy
Thomas O. Baldwin, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry
University of California
Riverside, California

Immediate Past Vice President for Science Policy
Peter A. Rubenstein, PhD
Professor - Department of Biochemistry
University of Iowa Carver College of Medicine
Iowa City, Iowa

Federation Secretary
Guy Fogleman, PhD, CFA

FASEB Executive Director
Bethesda, Maryland

Board Members Representing FASEB Member Societies

Note: Board Advisors appear in italics

American Association of Anatomists - AAA
David Burr, PhD
Distinguished Professor
Indiana University School of Medicine
Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology & Biomedical Engineering
Indianapolis, Indiana

The American Association of Immunologists - AAI
Ellen Kraig, PhD
Co-Director, Molecular Section of the Graduate Core Course
Department of Cellular and Structural Biology
The University of Texas Health Science Center
San Antonio, Texas

American College of Sports Medicine - ACSM
Chester A. Ray, PhD
Professor of Medicine and Cellular/Molecular Physiology
College of Medicine
Milton S. Hershey Medical Center
Penn State University College of Medicine
Hershey, Pennsylvania

American Federation for Medical Research - AFMR
Robert J. Freishtat, MD, MPH
Associate Chief for Academic Affairs, Division of Emergency Medicine
Children's national Health System
Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Emergency Medicine and Integrative Systems Biology
George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences
Washington, DC 20010

Board Advisor
MingMing Ning, MD
Co-Director, Cardio-Neurology Division
Director, Clinical Proteomics Research Center
Massachusetts General Hospital
Boston, MA

American Peptide Society - APEPS 
Maurice Manning, PhD
Distinguished University Professor
Department of Biochemistry and Cancer Biology
University of Toledo College of Medicine
Toledo, Ohio

e American Physiological Society - APS
Hannah V. Carey, PhD
Professor - Department of Comparative Biosciences
University of Wisconsin School of Veterinary Medicine
Madison, Wisconsin

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - ASBMB
Thomas O. Baldwin, PhD

Professor of Biochemistry
University of California
Riverside, California

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research - ASBMR
Sylvia Christakos, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey (UMDNJ)
New Jersey Medical School - Newark
Newark, New Jersey

American Society for Clinical Investigation - ASCI
Laura Niedernhofer, MD, PhD
Associate Professor
Department of Metabolism and Aging
The Scripps Research Institute
Jupiter, Florida

The American Society of Human Genetics - ASHG
Edward R.B. McCabe, MD, PhD
Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Director
March of Dimes Foundation
White Plains, New York

American Society for Investigative Pathology - ASIP
James M. Musser, MD, PhD
Executive Vice President and Co-Director
Methodist Hospital Research Institute
Houston, Texas

American Society for Nutrition - ASN (Member since 1940)
Sean H. Adams, PhD
Center Director, Arkansas Children’s Nutrition Center
Professor of Developmental Nutrition, Department of Pediatrics
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
Little Rock, Arkansas

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics - ASPET
Brian M. Cox, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience
The Uniformed Services University
Bethesda, Maryland

Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities - ABRF
Nancy D. Denslow, PhD
Physiological Sciences
Center for Environmental & Human Toxicology
Department of Physiological Sciences
University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida

Association for Molecular Pathology - AMP
Tsongalis, Gregory, PhD, HCLD, CC
Director, Molecular Pathology
Professor of Pathology
Department of Pathology
Audrey and Theodor Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
Norris Cotton Cancer Center
Lebanon, New Hampshire

Biomedical Engineering Society - BMES
Scott I. Simon, PhD
Department of Biomedical Engineering
University of California - Davis
Davis, California

Endocrine Society - ES
Ursula B. Kaiser, MD
Associate Professor of Medicine - Harvard Medical School
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Chief, Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes, and Hypertension
Boston, Massachusetts

Genetics Society of America - GSA
Jasper D. Rine, PhD
Professor of Genetics
Department of Genomics/Development
University of California - Berkeley
Berkeley, California

The Histochemical Society - HCS
Eduardo Rosa-Molinar, PhD
Associate Professor of Integrative Anatomy and Neurobiology
Biological Imaging Group
University of Puerto Rico - Rio Piedras
San Juan, Puerto Rico

Board Advisor

Charles W. Frevert, DVM, ScD
Associate Professor
Department of Comparative Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine

International Society for Computational Biology - ISCB

Judith A. Blake, PhD
Associate Professor
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
The Jackson Laboratory
Bar Harbor, Maine

Board Advisor
David M. Rocke, PhD

Distinguished Professor in the Division of Biostatistics
Department of Public Health Sciences (School of Medicine) and
Department of Biomedical Engineering (College of Engineering)
University of California, Davis

The Protein Society - PS
David P. Goldenberg, PhD
Professor of Biology
The Goldenberg Lab
Department of Biology
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Society for Developmental Biology - SDB 
Blanche Capel, PhD
James B. Duke Professor of Cell Biology
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina

Society for Free Radical Biology and Medicine - SFRBM
Harry Ischiropoulos, PhD
Gisela and Dennis Alter Research Professor of Pediatrics and Pharmacology
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute and
The Raymond and Ruth Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

The Society for Glycobiology - SfG
Ronald L. Schnaar, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences
Professor of NeuroscienceDirector of the Lung Inflammatory Disease Program of Excellence in Glycosciences
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, Maryland

The Society for Pediatric Research - SPR
John R. Schreiber, MD, MPH

President of Baystate Medical Practices
Chief Physician Executive
Baystate Health
Professor of Pediatrics, Tufts University
Springfield, Massachusetts 

Society for the Study of Reproduction - SSR
Patricia L. Morris, PhD
Director of Biomedical Research and
Acting Director, R&D, in the Reproductive Health Program
Population Council's Center for Biomedical Research
Rockefeller University
New York, New York

Teratology Society - TS
Belén Tornesi, DVM, MS
Senior Research Toxicologist and Developmental & Reproductive Specialist
North Chicago, Illinois

About Us|Join FASEB|Contact Us|Employment Opportunities|Site Map

Interact, Network, Follow: 

Full Site        Mobile Site