FASEB Board of Directors (July 2018 - June 2019)




James M. Musser, MD, PhD
Fondren Distinguished Presidential Endowed Chair,
Department of Pathology and Genomic Medicine and
Director, Center for Molecular and Translational Human Infectious Diseases Research,
Houston Methodist Hospital and Research Institute
Houston, Texas

Immediate Past President

Thomas O. Baldwin, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry
University of California
Riverside, California

Vice President for Science Policy

Louis B. Justement, PhD
Professor, Department of Microbiology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham, Alabama


Chester A. Ray, PhD
Professor and Chair
Department of Nutrition, Food, and Exercise Science
Director, Institute of Sports Sciences and Medicine
Florida State University
Tallahassee, Florida

Vice President-Elect for Science Policy

Patricia L. Morris, PhD
Executive Director of Biomedical Research and Development, R&D, in the Reproductive Health Program Population Council's Center for Biomedical Research
Rockefeller University
New York, New York

Immediate Past Vice President for Science Policy

Hannah V. Carey, PhD
Department of Comparative Biosciences
Unviersity of Wisconsin
School of Veterinary Medicine
Madison, Wisconsin

Federation Secretary

Frank Krause, CAE

FASEB Executive Director
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, Maryland

Board Members Representing FASEB Member Societies

American Aging Association - AGE

Matt Kaeberlein, PhD

Professor of Pathology
Adjunct Professor Genome Sciences
Adjunct Professor of Oral Health Sciences
The University of Washington
Seattle, Washington

American Association of Anatomists - AAA

Joan Richtsmeier, PhD

Pennsylvania State University
Distinguished Professor of Anthropology
University Park, Pennsylvania

The American Association of Immunologists - AAI


Beth A. Garvy, PhD

University of Kentucky College of Medicine
Professor and Chair,
Department of Microbiology, Immunology, and Molecular Genetics
Lexington, Kentucky

American College of Sports Medicine - ACSM

William B. Farquhar, PhD, FACSM

Department of Kinesiology and Applied Physiology
College of Health Sciences
University of Delaware
Newark, Delaware

American Peptide Society - APEPS 

Philip E. Dawson, PhD

Professor of Chemistry and Dean of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies
The Scripps Research Institute
La Jolla, California

American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - ASBMB

C. Robert Matthews, PhD
Arthur F. and Helen P. Koskanis Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Chair, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, Massachusetts

American Society for Bone and Mineral Research - ASBMR

Brendan F. Boyce, MB ChB
Professor of Pathology and Orthopaedics
Department of Surgical Pathology
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester New York

American Society for Clinical Investigation - ASCI

Talat Alp Ikizler, MD

Catherine McLaughlin Hakim Chair in Vascular Biology
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director, Division of Nephrology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, Tennessee

American Society for Investigative Pathology - ASIP

Charles A. Parkos, MD, PhD

Carl V. Weller Professor and Chair
Department of Pathology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

American Society for Nutrition - ASN

Kelly A. Tappenden, PhD, RD, FASPEN

Professor and Department Head
Department of Kinesiology and Nutrition
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, Illinois

American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics - ASPET

Brian M. Cox, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience
Uniformed Services
University of the Health Sciences
Department of Pharmacology
Bethesda, Maryland

Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities - ABRF

Sheenah Mische, PhD
Office of Collaborative Science
NYU School of Medicine
NYU Langone Medical Center
New York, New York

Association for Molecular Pathology - AMP

Betsy A. Bove, PhD

Assistant Laboratory Director
Genomind, Inc.
Wilmington, Delaware

The American Physiological Society - APS

Kevin C. Kregel, PhD

Associate Provost for Faculty
Professor of Human Physiology
University of Iowa
Iowa City, Iowa

Biomedical Engineering Society - BMES

Denis Wirtz, PhD

Vice Provost for Research
TH Smoot Professor, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Pathology, Oncology
Director Johns Hopkins Physical Sciences-Oncology Center
Johns Hopkins University and Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

Endocrine Society - ES

Alan Schneyer, PhD

CEO and Chief Scientific Officer
Fairbanks Pharmaceuticals
Concord, Massachusetts

The Histochemical Society - HCS

Charles W. Frevert, DVM, ScD
Department of Comparative Medicine
University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle, Washington

The Protein Society - PS

David P. Goldenberg, PhD
Professor of Biology
The Goldenberg Lab
Department of Biology
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, Utah

Society for Developmental Biology - SDB

Lee Niswander, PhD

Chair of the Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology
University of Colorado, Boulder
Boulder, Colorado

Society for Experimental Biology and Medicine - SEBM

David Boothman, PhD
Sid and Lois Eskenazi Chair in Cancer Research
Professor, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Associate Director of Translational Research
IU Simon Cancer Center
Indianapolis, Indiana

Society for Redox Biology and Medicine - SFRBM

Eric E. Kelley, PhD
Associate Professor of Physiology and Pharmacology, West Virginia University
Morgantown, West Virginia

The Society for Glycobiology - SfG

Pamela Stanley, PhD

Professor, Department of Cell Biology
The Horace W. Goldsmith Foundation Chair
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
New York, New York

The Society for Pediatric Research - SPR

Vivek Balasubramaniam, MD
Associate Professor of Pediatrics
Division Chief Pediatric Pulmonology and Sleep Medicine
University of Wisconsin, Madison
Madison, Wisconsin

Society for the Study of Reproduction - SSR

Patricia L. Morris, PhD
Executive Director of Biomedical Research and Development, R&D, in the Reproductive Health Program Population Council's Center for Biomedical Research
Rockefeller University
New York, New York

Society of Toxicology - SOT

John B. Morris Ph.D.

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emeritus
University of Connecticut
Storrs, Connecticut

Teratology Society - TS

Christine Perdan Curran, PhD
Associate Professor
Northern Kentucky University
Department of Biological Sciences
Highland Heights, Kentucky

US Human Proteome Organization - US HUPO

Ralph A. Bradshaw, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Department of Physiology & Biophysics
University of California - Irvine
Department of Pharmacology
University of California
San Diego, California