Recipients and Award Lectures

Recipients of the award present an Excellence in Science Award Lecture at a scientific meeting of her choice in the award year.  At the time of the lecture, a $10,000 unrestricted research grant is presented by a representative of the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology.  The award also covers travel expenses (per guidelines), complimentary registration at the meeting, and a plaque in recognition of the award.

Past recipients of FASEB's Excellence in Science Award include:


Diane Mathis, PhD - Harvard Medical School
AAI Member

Lecture: Forthcoming


Bonnie L. Bassler, PhD - Princeton University
ASBMB Member

Lecture Title:  Quorum Sensing And Its Control
Location: Experimental Biology 2016 in San Diego, CA
Presented April 3, 2016


Diane E. Griffin, MD, PhD - Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
AAI Member

Lecture Title:  Immune-mediated clearance of acute viral infections: How effective is it?
Location:  Immunology 2015 - The Annual Meeting of The American Association of Immunologists
New Orleans, LA
Presented May 11, 2015


Kathryn V. Anderson, PhD - Sloan-Kettering Institute, New York, NY
SDB Member

Lecture Title: Cilia in the Mouse Embryo
Location: 73rd Annual Meeting of the Society for Developmental Biology
University of Washington
Seattle, WA
Presented July 20, 2014


Terry Orr-Weaver, PhD - Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, Cambridge, MA
GSA Member

Lecture Title: Diamonds in the Rough: finding Paradigms in Drosophila Developmental Strategies
Location: 54th Annual Drosophila Research Conference
Marriott Wardman Park Hotel
Washington, D.C.
Presented April 3, 2013


Susan R. Wessler, PhD - University of California, Riverside, CA
GSA Member

Lecture Title: Success Strategies of a Transposable Element Rapidly Diversifying the Rice Genome
Location: FASEBBig Sky Montana Science Research Conference
Conference Title: "Mobile DNA in Mammalian Genomes"
Presented June 11, 2013

For other winners, please see our complete listing of all FASEB Excellence in Science Award Recipients (1989 to present).

FASEB acknowledges Lilly USA, LLC as the 1989-2010 and 2012-2014 sponsor of the FASEB Excellence in Science Award.